Home | Archive | Subscribe/Unsubscribe | Contact CJ | Media Relations

Graduate Research Conference Sees Increase in Participation; Range of Research

By Jody Record, Campus Journal Editor
May 4, 2011

At the eighth annual Graduate Research Conference, held April 25 – 26, 130 participants presented their research projects to family, friends and members of the UNH community. A faculty reception kicked off the event on April 25. Ellen Cohn, last year’s recipient of the Graduate Faculty Mentor Award, gave the key note address.

Outstanding faculty and graduate students were honored during the award ceremony. J. William Harris, professor of history, received the 2011 Graduate Faculty Mentor Award.

Graduate student teaching awards went to Cara Fiore, microbiology, Ph.D; Rajtilak Majumdar, plant biology, Ph.D.; Joyce Massicotte, resource administration and management, Master of Science; and Jessica Nash, nutritional sciences, Master of Science. These awards are designed to recognize graduate students who have demonstrated excellence in teaching. This fall there were 426 graduate teaching assistants.

Jeremy Brazas, mathematics, Ph.D. and Kristin Jeschke, history, Ph.D. received honorable mention.

Graduate student research/ scholarship/creativity awards were given to Gregory Stringer, history, Master of Arts and Mary Fuhrer, history, Ph.D. These awards are designed to recognize graduate student research, scholarship and other creative works that represent the best overall contribution to the discipline.

Research topics presented during the two-day conference ranged from the study of DNA replication to Protestant sermons during the French and Indian War to the genetic monitoring of the New England cottontails to the study of the wood frog’s habitat, among others.

Students receiving dissertation year fellowships, given in recognition and support of outstanding doctoral students in the final year of their Ph.D., include

Alexis  Attwood
Jamie   Burke    
Daniel  Hocking 
Jessica Jarett  
Eric      Kelsey 
Aykut  Kilinc 
Jessica Knapp 
Jeremy Nettleton 
Philip   Nuss 
Joshua Stillwagon  
Peter    Sullivan
Jan Tornick 
Jennifer Vanderminden
Michelle Walsh
James   Webber  

natural resources and Earth systems science
natural resources and Earth systems science
plant biology  
natural resources and Earth systems science 

email this page!

We welcome your story ideas, letters, photos, notable events, achievements, obituaries and/or memorium.

If you would like to submit an item, please contact the Editor at 862-1567.

Deadline for submissions is Tuesdays at 4 pm.

Print this article Print
Email this