UNH Campus Journal
UNH  |  Calendar  |  Storm/Emergency
Home | Archive | Subscribe/Unsubscribe Contact

Professors Honored with University Professorship and Presidential Chairs

By Jody Record, Campus Journal Editor
June 11, 2008

Four professors have been honored for their outstanding contributions in their fields and to the university community with a University Professorship and three Presidential Chairs.

Mathematics professor Kevin Short has been named a University Professor. Professors Martin Lee, physics; William McDowell, natural resources; and Janet Polasky, history; have received Presidential Chairs, initiated by President Mark Huddleston in consultation with the Provost and Deans Council to recognize faculty members in a new way.

University Professorships are supported through the generosity of the UNH Foundation and awarded to full professors who have demonstrated the highest levels of excellence in teaching, scholarship (including the creative arts), and service during an extended period of tenure at UNH.

Recipients of the University Professorships are expected to have attained international stature in their discipline because of their significant contributions to the advancement of knowledge or aesthetic understandings. They will have received other widely recognized honors such as international prizes, fellowships, or appointments.

University Professorships, with their annual $20,000 stipend, are the highest form of recognition at the university and are available to no more than four individuals at any one time. The position is held as long as the individual is employed by the university.

Up to four Presidential Chairs, funded through the President’s Excellence Fund, are awarded for a period of 10 years with the option of renewal. Each recipient receives $15,000 a year for the duration of their chair.

“The recipients of the University Professorship and the Presidential Chairs represent the high level of excellence for which UNH is known and furthers the university’s efforts to attract and maintain talented faculty,” says Bruce Mallory, UNH provost and executive vice president. “The Presidential Chairs, initiated by President Huddleston in consultation with the Provost and Deans Council, are a new way to recognize faculty members’ many contributions and years of service.”

email this page!

We welcome your story ideas, letters, photos, notable events, achievements, obituaries and/or memorium.

If you would like to submit an item, please contact the Editor at 862-1567.

Deadline for submissions is Tuesdays at 4 pm.

Print this article Print
Email this

UNH Home | UNH News | Manage Your Subscription | follow UNH News on Twitter!
Campus Journal is produced by
UNH Media Relations
8 Garrison Ave., Durham, NH 03824
University of New Hampshire