UNH Campus Journal
UNH  |  Calendar  |  Storm/Emergency
Home | Archive | Subscribe/Unsubscribe Contact

Social Justice Promoters Honored

By Jody Record, Campus Journal Editor
February 13, 2008

Top row: Joseph Tang, Jessica Rubinstein, Nicole Douglas Murray, Rebekah Blanchard, Steve Henry, Jessica Compton, John Reilley, Bessem Bate, Richard Haynes, Renai Mason. Middle: Susie Metz, Alexandra Covucci, Ava Fields. Bottom row: Selina Taylor

One organization and four members of the university community were honored recently during the 5th annual Social Justice Awards reception for their efforts to promote social justice, diversity and equality at UNH.

Hosted by the Student and Academic Services Diversity Team, the event took place Feb. 1 at the Alumni Center.

This year’s recipients include Richard Haynes, staff award; Michael Ferber, faculty award; Selina Taylor, undergraduate student award; and Renai Mason, graduate student award. The Diversity Support Coalition was received an award for its student organization.

The Social Justice Awards were developed as a way to recognize those members of the UNH community who demonstrate “excellence and integrity with respect to advancing social justice issues within our community and beyond.”

Each year, one faculty member, one staff member, one graduate student and one undergraduate student are recognized for their roles in leadership and courage and positive role modeling in promoting social justice issues such as diversity, equity, and human rights.

A selection committee made up of faculty, staff, students, representatives from the three Presidents’ Commissions, students from the Diversity Support Coalition, the chair of the Diversity Team and one other student organization committed to social justice choose the annual recipients.

Previous winners of these lifetime achievement awards include:

Joe Lugalla
Nina Glick Schiller
Justus Ogembo
John Seavey

Chanda Corbett
Larry Brickner-Wood
Michelle Holt-Shannon
Sean McGhee

New England Center for Inclusive Teaching, UNH

Carli Stevenson
Laurie Milne
Kristin Hultsman
Myra Khan
Emily Lagana
Elle Pectavage

Student Organization:
Urban Expressions

email this page!

We welcome your story ideas, letters, photos, notable events, achievements, obituaries and/or memorium.

If you would like to submit an item, please contact the Editor at 862-1567.

Deadline for submissions is Tuesdays at 4 pm.

Print this article Print
Email this

UNH Home | UNH News | Manage Your Subscription | follow UNH News on Twitter!
Campus Journal is produced by
UNH Media Relations
8 Garrison Ave., Durham, NH 03824
University of New Hampshire