UNH Campus Journal
UNH  |  Calendar  |  Storm/Emergency
Home | Archive | Subscribe/Unsubscribe Contact

Search Committee Formed to Replace Liberal Arts Dean

November 28, 2007

From Provost and Executive Vice President Bruce Mallory:

Dear colleagues,

I am pleased to announce the creation of the search committee for the Dean of the College of Liberal Arts. This is the first step in the important process to recruit, review, and recommend candidates for the next dean. Our goal will be to recruit and appoint an individual who will continue and expand upon the excellent leadership provided by Dean Hoskin during the past thirteen years.

The Search Committee includes the following members:

Vicky Banyard, psychology, vicky.banyard@unh.edu

Stephanie Bramlett, graduate student representative, Stephanie.bramlett@unh.edu

Mil Duncan, Carsey Institute and sociology, mil.duncan@unh.edu

Burt Feintuch, Center for the Humanities and English, burt.feintuch@unh.edu

Suzanne Graham, education, suzanne.graham@unh.edu

Lori Hopkins, languages, literature and culture, lori.hopkins@unh.edu

Joe Klewicki (co-chair), dean, CEPS, joe.klewicki@uh.edu

Lisa MacFarlane, honors program and English, lisa.macfarlane@unh.edu

Michael McConnell, art and art history, michael.mcconnell@unh.edu

Cesar Rebellon, sociology cesar.rebellon@unh.edu

Sue St. Louis, director, COLA Business Service Center, sue.stlouis@unh.edu

Peggy Vagts, music and COLA Faculty Fellow, peggy.vagts@unh.edu

Charlotte Witt (co-chair), philosophy, charlotte.witt@unh.edu

Vicki Wright, University Art Gallery, vicki.wright@unh.edu

Lu Yan, history, ylu@cisunix.unh.edu

Undergraduate student representative to be named

The Dean of the College of Liberal Arts (COLA) will have a demonstrated commitment to the educational, scholarly and engagement mission of UNH. She or he will be knowledgeable in all matters pertaining to leadership in the largest of the seven colleges in this doctoral extensive, high research activity institution. COLA is a remarkable context for scholarship and learning in the humanities, the social sciences, the fine and performing arts, and education with nearly 300 faculty and more than 4,600 students.

The Dean of the College of Liberal Arts is responsible for the administration of college and university policies; oversees the undergraduate and graduate curriculum; recruits and appoints tenure track and adjunct faculty; directs all outreach and community engagement initiatives; manages and develops fiscal and capital resources; and participates with other university deans in governance, strategic planning, advancement, and institutional assessment. The dean serves as a member of the UNH Deans Council and reports directly to the Provost and Executive Vice President. The dean will demonstrate high academic standards; strong, visionary leadership; effective management of personnel, services, and budget; and effective communication skills necessary for strategic leadership and collegial relationships.

Dr. Wanda Mitchell, vice provost for diversity, will work closely with the committee to create a strong and diverse pool of internal and external candidates, through both formal and informal means. The search committee will determine finalists for campus interviews and make final recommendations to me. Our goal will be to appoint the new dean as close to July 1, 2008 as possible. I encourage all members of the university community to utilize your professional networks in order to forward qualified nominations to the committee. Nominations and other communication with the committee can be addressed to: LiberalArts.DeanSearch@unh.edu.


email this page!

We welcome your story ideas, letters, photos, notable events, achievements, obituaries and/or memorium.

If you would like to submit an item, please contact the Editor at 862-1567.

Deadline for submissions is Tuesdays at 4 pm.

SHARE
Print this article Print
Email this
Subscribe
 Facebook

UNH Home | UNH News | Manage Your Subscription | follow UNH News on Twitter!
Campus Journal is produced by
UNH Media Relations
8 Garrison Ave., Durham, NH 03824
University of New Hampshire