2007 Pancake Breakfast

15th Annual Pancake Breakfast April 11, 2007

More than 200 people attended the 15th Annual Pancake Breakfast in Huddleston Hall Ballroom on April 11, 2007.

The 15th Annual Pancake Breakfast was held April 11, 2007, to celebrate the history of the GLBTQI community. Faculty, staff and students re-told the stories of key events beginning with Governor Thomson's threat in the 70s to cut off state funding if UNH continued to recognize [the Gay Student Organization] as a bona fide student organization. The Attorney General's Office advised him otherwise. The 80s was revealed as a time of more challenges to safety and inclusivity for the GLBT community. The 90s was a time of community-building for UNH gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender people and their allies, an outstanding decade in its number of ad hoc meetings and its activism, which brought about the community institutions we now count upon. Pride of accomplishment followed the first campus climate survey, the struggle for the adoption of Domestic Partner Benefits, the successful hosting of the ordination of NH's first gay bishop on campus and, most recently, the re-design and implementation of the Safe Zones Program. The breakfast program also featured the recognition of individuals who had worked recently to build a safe and welcoming campus at UNH. Kidder Awards were given to those who served as role models in contributing to a campus climate of equity and inclusivity. Kidder Awards were presented in recognition of outstanding efforts in fostering understanding and advancing opportunities for those whose sexual orientation, gender identity or expression differ from the majority in our culture.

The 2007 Kidder Faculty Award was presented to Carol Conaway, who holds a joint appointment in Communication and Women's Studies.

The winner of the Kidder Staff Award was Jean L. Mitchell, Facilities Manager for UNH Athletics.

The Kidder Fund Graduate Student Award was presented to Jessie Knapp.

The Kidder Fund Undergraduate Student Award was presented to Steve Henry.

The Pink Triangle Awards were delivered by the Co-Chairs of the GLBT Commission, Judy Spiller, Associate Provost for Academic Achievement and Support and Robin Hackett, Assistant Professor of English. The awards honor GLBTQI leaders and heroes for their outstanding contributions for equity and for enhanced visibility of the GLBTQI community. Winners this year were faculty members, Jean Elson and Siobhan Senier; staff members, Ellen Semran with student assistant Megan Slattery for the Safe Zones Program, and Peter Welch and Dawn Zitney for the Reel Thing Film Series; students James Alton Croker, Jenelle DeVits, Leanne Ferretti, Miranda Fillebrown, Cass Mercer, Susan Metz.

More than 200 students, faculty, staff and community members attended the program in Huddleston Hall Ballroom.

Cari Moorhead, Associate Dean of the Graduate School, and Rev. Larry Brickner-Wood, UNH Chaplain with the United Campus Ministry.

Steve Henry, recipient of the 2007 Kidder Undergraduate Student Award and Miranda Fillebrown, recipient of a 2007 Pink Triangle Award.

Ellen Semran, OMSA GLBTQ Coordinator and Joe Tang, student and designer of the new Safe Zones symbol.

Jean Mitchell receiving praise for her 2007 Kidder Staff Award.

Cass Mercer and Miranda Fillebrown, winners of Pink Triangle Awards.

Cari Moorhead, Associate Dean of the Graduate School, Jessie Knapp, recipient of the 2007 Kidder Graduate Student Award and Judy Spiller, Associate Provost for Academic Achievement and Support and co-chair of the GLBT Commission.