Family Research Laboratory, University of New Hampshire

FAMILY RESEARCH LABORATORY

Co-Directors

David Finkelhor, Ph.D., Professor of Sociology and Director, Crimes against Children Research Center. Child victimization, child sexual abuse,  juvenile justice, missing children, marital rape, and maltreatment of the elderly. e-mail: david.finkelhor@unh.edu, Website: http://www.unh.edu/ccrc.

Murray A. Straus, Ph.D., Professor of Sociology. Intimate partner violence, corporal punishment by parents, child abuse, measurement techniques, stress, rape, and homicide. e-mail: murray.straus@unh.edu Website: http://pubpages.unh.edu/~mas2


Research Faculty

Melissa Holt, Revictimization of adolescents, Dating Violence, Sexual Harassment, Domestic Violence & Sexual Assault, email: mkholt@cisunix.unh.edu

Lisa Jones, Ph.D. Research Assistant Professor. Child maltreatment, sexual abuse, child protective service and criminal justice systems, Transtheoretical Model of Change, measurement, evaluation research. E-mail: lmjones@cisunix.unh.edu

Glenda Kaufman Kantor, Ph.D., Research Associate Professor of Family Research. Wife abuse, substance abuse, family violence, child abuse, Hispanic families, and criminology.
e-mail: gkk@cisunix.unh.edu  website: http://pubpages.unh.edu/~gkk/

Kimberly Mitchell, Ph.D. Research Assistant Professor. Youth Internet Victimization and trauma, exposure to violence, disability and child abuse, and methodology. e-mail: kjm4@cisunix.unh.edu

Richard K. Ormrod, Ph.D., Research Assistant Professor.  Juvenile crime victimization, statistical analysis, mapping, and data management. e-mail:  rormrod@cisunix.unh.edu 

Janis Wolak, J.D., Research Assistant Professor. Child victimization, Youth Internet use, Internet victimization, child abuse, child witnesses of domestic violence, police reporting, help-seeking. e-mail: jw@cisunix.unh.edu


Post-Doctoral Research Fellows

Kerith Conron, S.c.D, M.P.H. Child maltreatment; psychopathology; intergenerational continuity; LGBT health. Email: kerith.conron@unh.edu

Angèle Fauchier, Ph.D. Parenting; discipline; intergenerational transmission; family violence and parent-child relationships. Email: angele.fauchier@unh.edu

Beth Mattingly, Ph.D. Gender and family; consequences of intimate partner violence; resiliency in childhood. Email: beth.mattingly@unh.edu

Jennifer Sherman, Ph.D. Gender, work and family; rural poverty; parenting stress and family stability. Email: jennifer.sherman@unh.edu

Research Associates

Kathy Becker Blease, Developmental Traumatology/victimology, Intergenerational transmission of trauma and trauma symptoms, email: kblease@cisunix.unh.edu

Ellen Cohn, Ph.D., Professor of Psychology. Wife abuse, legal socialization, and social psychology. e-mail: mailto:escohn@cisunix.unh.edu 

Theodore Cross, Ph.D., Director of the National Evaluation of Children's Advocacy Centers and Research Assistant Professor.  Investigation and prosecution of child maltreatment, evaluation of children's services, foster care, polygraph testing, statistical methods,, expert witnessing. e-mail: tcross@cisunix.unh.edu 

Ellen R. DeVoe, Ph.D., A.C.S.W., Assistant Professor, Columbia University School of Social Work Partner Violence, Impact of partner violence on young children, child sexual abuse, intervention research. email: ed156@columbia.edu

Alberto Godenzi, Ph.D., Dean, College of Social Work, Boston College. Conflict and cooperation, interpersonal violence, gender, prevention. e-mail: godenzi@bc.edu 

Sherry L. Hamby, Ph.D., Partner violence, child victimization, sexual assault, measurement techniques, methodology, American Indians and intimate violence, gender and violence.  email:  slhamby@christa.unh.edu.

Patricia Y. Hashima, Ph.D., Institute on Family & Neighborhood Life, Clemson University, Children's concepts of justice, violence against children, and children's rights. Email: hashima@clemson.edu

Denise Hines; Intergenerational transmission of spousal abuse, husband abuse, Cross-cultural issues in family violence; Personality and Family Violence, email: dahines@clark.edu

Kathleen Kendall-Tackett, Ph.D., Health effects of victimization, maternal stress and depression, victimization and disability, breastfeeding e-mail: kkendallt@aol.com

Vera E. Mouradian, Ph.D., Research Scientist, Stone Center, Wellesley College and Research Associate, Family Research Laboratory, University of New Hampshire: teen dating violence, adult marital and dating violence, sexual assault, effects of witnessing partner violence on children, aggression, gender and behavior, social cognition, methodology. e-mail: vmouradi@wellesley.edu 

David Sugarman, Ph.D., Professor of Psychology, Rhode Island College. Marital violence, dating violence, social cognition, child development, meta analysis, and corporal punishment. e-mail: dsugarman@ric.edu

Heather Turner, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Sociology. Stress and mental health, gender roles and the family, social support, aging, and psycho-social aspects of AIDS. e-mail: haturner@cisunix.unh.edu

Linda M. Williams, Ph.D., Research Associate Professor of Family Research and Director of Research, The Stone Center, Wellesley College. Child sexual abuse, rape, sex offenders, fatal child abuse, longitudinal research, and memory of trauma childhood. e-mail: lwilliams@wellesley.edu 


Questions about the FRL can be addressed to:

Family Research Laboratory
126 Horton Social Science Center
University of New Hampshire
Durham, NH 03824-3586
Tel. 603-862-1888
Fax 603-862-1122
E-mail: mas2@cisunix.unh.edu