About Us


TDI Staff

Nancy L. Thomas*

Director, TDI
Senior Associate, Everyday Democracy
E-mail Nancy

Michele Holt-Shannon*

Administrative Director, Discovery Program
University of New Hampshire
E-mail Michele


Bruce L. Mallory* (Chair)

Interim Director, Carsey Institute
Professor of Education
University of New Hampshire
E-mail Bruce

Martin Carcasson

Professor of Communication
Director, Centor for Public Deliberation
Colorado State University

Matt Leighninger

Executive Director
Deliberative Democracy Consortium

Valeriano Ramos

Director of Strategic Alliances
Everyday Democracy

Patrick Scully*

President, Clearview Consulting
Everyday Democracy
Interim Director,
Campaign for Strong Democracy

Derek Barker

Program Officer
The Kettering Foundation

Ande Diaz*

Associate Dean of Students and Director of the Intercultural Center
Roger Williams University

Peter Levine*

Director, Center for Information and Research on Civic Learning
Director of Research, The Jonathan M. Tisch College of Citizenship and Public Service
Tufts University

Robert Stains

Vice President
Public Conversations Project

Shelby Brown*

Doctoral candidate
Community College Policy & Administration, University of Maryland

Stephan Hiroshi Gilchrist

Director, Equ.ity, Diversity, and Inclusion
UW-Extension and UW Colleges

Cecillia Orphan

Doctoral Candidate,
Higher Education Leadership Program
University of Pennsylvania

David Schoem*

Faculty Director

Michigan Community Scholars Program
University of Michigan


John Dedrick

Director of Programs
Kettering Foundation

Martha McCoy

Executive Director
Everyday Democracy

Sandy Heierbacher

Co-Founder and Director
National Coalition for Dialogue and Deliberation

Caryn McTighe Musil

Senior Vice President for Diversity, Equity, and Global Initiatives
Association of American Colleges and Universities

George Mehaffy

Vice President for Academic Leadership and Change
American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU)

John Saltmarsh

New England Resource Center for Higher Education (NERCHE)


(* Founding Members)