The Harold A. Iddles Lecture Series

Isiah M. Warner 

Isiah M. Warner

Vice Chancellor for Strategic Initiatives
Boyd Professor and Philip W. West Professor of Analytical and Environmental Chemistry
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Professor


Ph.D., Analytical Chemistry, University of Washington, 1977

Non Degree Course Work, Joint Center for Graduate Study, Richland, WA, 1969-73

B.S., Chemistry (Scholar, Cum Laude), Southern University, 1968


April 8    3:10 p.m.    Parsons N108
"Mentoring, Research, and Diversity: Transforming Undergraduate STEM Education"

April 9    11:00 a.m.  Parsons N104
"GUMBOS: Moving Ionic Liquid Chemistry into the Solid Phase"












Dr. Warner is an analytical chemist with more than 300 refereed publications in a variety of journals relevant to his general area of research. He has particular expertise in the area of fluorescence spectroscopy, where his research has focused for more than 35 years. He is considered one of the world’s experts in this analytical spectroscopy. For example, he is the corresponding author in the highly cited biannual reviews on “Molecular Fluorescence, Phosphorescence, and Chemiluminescence Spectrometry“, for the journal, Analytical Chemistry.  Over the past 20 years, he has also maintained a strong research effort in the areas of organized media and separation science.
Dr. Warner has been performing research in the more specific area of analytical measurements using ionic liquids (ILs) for several years. It is this research on ionic liquids which has lead to the recent conceptualization and implementation of a group of uniform materials based on organic salts (GUMBOS) as novel materials which can be exploited for a variety of applications. Novel nanoparticles (nanoGUMBOS) have been derived from these materials which can primarily be classified as frozen ILs.  However, some GUMBOS are not ionic liquids since they do not fit the traditional definition of ILs. The utility of these materials is that they provide solid phase materials with the same tunability as ionic liquids.  Several publications in key chemistry journals (e.g. JACS, Nano Letters, ACS Nano, Analytical Chemistry, Chemical Communications, and Langmuir) and several pending patents have resulted from this new area of research.  He has given more than 500 invited talks since 1979. He currently has eight patents with four more pending.

In addition to his fundamental research, Professor Warner has developed strategies to encourage undergraduate and graduate students (particularly from underrepresented groups) to go on to pursue terminal degrees in the STEM discipline. Through his fundamental and educational research, Professor Warner has produced close to 60 PhDs and 100s of undergraduates who have gone on to terminal degrees in various disciplines.DOE and NSF.  He is also a member of the Claire Boothe Luce Board, a philanthropic organization aimed at developing the careers of young female scientists and engineers.

The Harold A. Iddles Lecture Series was established as an annual event of the Chemistry Department upon Professor Iddles' retirement in 1961. Chemistry alumni and friends established this fund to support a lecture series which includes one technical presentation and a second presentation of broader interest for the general public. This alumni gesture has served as a continuing recognition of Professor Iddles' service to the department as its head from 1929 to 1961, and of the educational and research programs he fostered.  Dr. Iddles, educated at Michigan State College (B.S., 1918) and State University of Iowa (M.S., 1922), received the Ph.D. in Chemistry from Columbia University in 1925 and then studied in Austria, Germany and England. During his long tenure at New Hampshire, he was widely recognized as an outstanding teacher and tireless advisor to students. For over thirty years some of the most distinguished chemists in the world have visited the University of New Hampshire as Iddles Lecturers.  

Previous Iddles Lecturers

Arthur C. CopeMichael J. WelchAndrew D. Hamilton
Louis F. FeiserDietmar SeyferthJacqueline V. Barton
Frederick E. BrinckmanClayton H. HeathcockDavid Parker
James P. CollmanPaul C. LauterburF. Sherwood Rowland
William N. Lipscomb, Jr.Allen J. BardPeter Wipf
Kenneth B. WibergMark S. WrightonR. Mark Wightman
George C. PimentelAnders KjaerThomas v. O'Halloran
Kurt MislowRudolph A. MarcusJohn LaMattina
R. Bruce MerrifieldVincent du VigneaudPamela  Björkman 
Sidney H. FoxRonald C.D. BreslowMary J. Wirth 
Francis O. SchmittDaryle H. BuschBarbara J. Finlayson-Pitts
Philip AisenManfred EigenFred Wudl
Jerrold MeinwaldJohn D. RobertsRaoul Kopelman 
George S. HammondGabor A. SomorjaiKim D. Janda
Garry A. RechnitzIra W. LevinMarsha I. Lester 
Walter M. StockmayerF. Albert CottonWilliam B. Tolman
R.M. AchesonJohn T. Yates, JrWeihong Tan
Louis P. HammettJohn E. McMurryTimothy M. Swager
Paul G. GassmanPaul S. AndersonMark Ratner
Orville L. ChapmanRichard P. WaynePeter Mahaffy
Royce W. MurrayChris EnkeCynthia Friend

Lectures are open to the public.  For more information, contact the Department of Chemistry at 603-862-1550.