Committee Named for AVP for Community, Equity and Diversity Search

Committee Named for AVP for Community, Equity and Diversity Search

Wednesday, February 26, 2014

The search to fill the new position of associate vice president for Community, Equity and Diversity is now fully underway with the report that the search committee has been named.

The new position was announced by President Mark Huddleston earlier this month in his State of the University address as another step toward advancing diversity and inclusion efforts at the university.

Anne Lawing, dean of students, and Alberto Manalo, associate professor of environmental and resource economics and vice chair of the faculty senate, will serve as co-chairs. Other members include:

Heather Barber, associate professor, kinesiology, CHHS, faculty athletics representative

Faina Bukher, educational program coordinator, Women’s Studies Program

Pablo Chavajay, associate professor, psychology, COLA

Amy Cunningham, administrative director, Discovery Program

Megan Davis, chief of staff, Office of the President

Annie Jones, senior administrative assistant, Office of the President

Mary Horigan, senior executive director, Advancement Relations

Mark McConnell, professor and chair, department of physics, CEPS

Sean McGhee, director, Office of Multicultural Student Affairs

Andres Mejia, student and co-chair, Mosaico, diversity support coalition

Kathy Neils, chief human resources officer

Kei Saito, graduate student and GLBTQ commission

Donna Marie Sorrentino, director and Title IX coordinator, Affirmative Action & Equity

Carol Swiech, director, Academic Counseling Office, UNH Manchester campus