Graham Named Executive Director of UNH ADVANCE

Graham Named Executive Director of UNH ADVANCE

Wednesday, February 27, 2013

Karen Graham, professor of mathematics and director of the Joan and James Leitzel Center, has been named executive director of UNH ADVANCE, and special assistant to the vice provost for faculty development and inclusive excellence. 

The new position was created in response to the recent $3.47 million National Science Foundation (NSF) ADVANCE institutional transformation award (IT) that UNH received focused on increasing the number of women faculty in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) fields through changes in recruitment and retention policies and practices.   

In her role as executive director, Graham will provide administrative and strategic leadership for all aspects of the UNH ADVANCE program. This will include working with members of the leadership team and internal steering committee to build a vision and set of sustainable initiatives that seek to diversify the STEM faculty and support best practices in faculty development across the university.     

"Karen has provided strong leadership for the ADVANCE PAID project since 2009, and she led the team that prepared the submission for the current IT award. As a woman STEM faculty member, Karen has a deep understanding of the issues and is passionate about seeing UNH move to the forefront in developing policies and practices that facilitate the work of women in STEM,” says Christine Shea, interim vice provost for faculty development and inclusive excellence. “I very much look forward to continuing to work with Karen on this important program."  

In May 2012, UNH joined with the Community College System of New Hampshire in a commitment to increase the number of graduates in the fields of science, technology, engineering and math disciplines, pledging to double the number of STEM graduates by 2025. 

"Increasing the diversity of STEM faculty role models will be critical in helping UNH reach this goal,” Graham says.

Graham has served as program director for the NSF ADVANCE grant UNH received in 2009, and has been director of the Leitzel Center since 2003. Her research focuses on the preparation and professional development of mathematics teachers.  She has built an impressive record of external funding primarily from the National Science Foundation and state level initiatives.    

She has won several awards including the Richard H. Balomenos Mathematics Education Service Award in 1999 from the New Hampshire Teacher of Mathematics and the UNH Alumni Award for Excellence in Public Service in 2008.  She was selected as an American Council on Education (ACE) Fellow for the 2010-2011 academic year and was elected to the board of directors of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics for a three-year term that began in April 2012.